Our Sentinel is your Sentinel                           Serving the communities of Ogden, Philo, Royal, Sidney, St. Joseph & Tolono                                   www.oursentinel.com

Previous articles

Seventeen named Illinois state scholars at SJO

Seventeen St. Joseph-Ogden seniors were named to this year's State Scholar Program by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC).

Senior Kenly Taylor holds a game ball and the Spartans' 2019 state third place trophy at Redbird Arena after the awards ceremony for Class 2A at the IHSA Volleyball State Finals. Taylor and four teammates from the final four team were named State Scholars this past week. (PhotoNews Media/Clark Brooks)
Illinois students attain state scholar recognition by maintaining an outstanding level of academic performance during high school. In order to be considered, they must be ranked in the top one-half of their class by the end of their third semester prior to graduation. Finally, the student's ACT or SAT score must reach be in the 95th percentile or higher. Only students attending approved Illinois public high schools are considered for this honorary recognition and it is awarded upon successful graduation the accredited school.

This year's recipients are: Lindsey Aden, Mallory Ames, Katelyn Berry, Emily Bigger, Ginny Bytnar, Andrea Cunningham, Faith Dahman, Hannah Dukeman, Erica Guelfi, Ava Mills, Eric Poe, Hannah Rajlich, Jenna Schaefer, Kenly Taylor, Stephanie Trame, Isabelle Vliet, Zoey Witruk.

Created by state lawmakers in 1957, the Deerfield, Illinois, based commission's main goal is to make post-secondary education accessible and affordable for resident high school students in Illinois through grants, scholarships and available loan programs.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Top trending stories this week