Rockets runner-up at sectional cross-country meet, SJO finishes 5th

The top five places at Saturday's IHSA sectional cross country meet in Forsyth was dominated by the Illini Prairie Conference.

The Unity girls cross country team tallied 69 points for a second-place finish at yesterday's sectional cross country meet at Hickory Point Golf Course on Saturday. The St. Joseph-Ogden contingent placed 5th with 150 points. Monticello won the sectional title scoring 51 points.

It took the Rockets' Erica Woodard, who was The Sentinel area's top finisher, 38 seconds longer to complete the course she ran seven days earlier. The freshman standout crossed the finish line sixth place at 18:59.9. Meanwhile, senior Taylor Joop, the second Unity runner to finish, turned in a nearly identical time to last week's regional run at 19:18.5. Woodard was sixth overall and Joop was the 11 runner to end her prep cross country career.

Rounding out the Rocket's top three was another frosh harrier, Caelyn Kleparski, who circumvented the course in 19 minutes, 24.8 seconds good for 13th place.

The Spartans' top three finishers crossed in the same order as they did on their previous journey around the familiar course.

Junior Ava Knap led SJO's effort clocking in at 19:37.3 with only a four second difference between this and the previous weekend's performance. She finished 19th out the field of 117 runners.

Helene Jones (19:49.7) and Chloe Burkhalter (20:25.2) finished in 23rd and 36th place, respectively, for the Spartans.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic there will be no IHSA state meet this season.

2020 St. Teresa Sectional Results -
6. Erica Woodard (Unity) 18:59.9, 11. Taylor Joop (Unity) 19:18.5, 13. Caelyn Kleparski (Unity) 19:24.8, 19. Ava Knap (St. Joseph-Ogden) 19:37.3, 21. Olivia Shike (Unity) 19:44.6, 23. Helene Jones (St. Joseph-Ogden) 19:49.7, 27. Elizabeth Hulick (Unity) 20:06.3, 28. Malia Fairbanks (Unity) 20:07.3, 29. Briana Ritchie (Unity) 20:10.8, 36. Chloe Burkhalter (St. Joseph-Ogden) 20:25.2, 38. Malorie Sarnecki (St. Joseph-Ogden) 20:32.2, 51. Kailyn Ingram (St. Joseph-Ogden) 20:53.5, 65. Ashlyn Lannert (St. Joseph-Ogden) 21:35.9, 70. Addie Allen (St. Joseph-Ogden) 21:47.1.

St. Joseph-Ogden High School 2024 baseball seniors