Today's news
"Our liberty depends on the freedom of the press"

14 U of I faculty members to become AAAS Fellows

University of Illinois chemistry professor Martin Burke and 13 other faculty members across campus join 551 scientists from around the world elected as 2021 Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

AAAS Fellows are scientists, engineers, and innovators who are recognized for their ability to converge research, technology, and teaching sharing information in a format for the general public. Recipients are formally recognized at the AAAS Annual Meeting where they are presented with a certificate and blue and gold rosette.

The 13 other campus professors who were also named include crop sciences professor Brian Diers; physics professor Aida El-Khadra; physics professor Eduardo Fradkin; cell and developmental biology professor Brian Freeman; evolution, ecology, and behavior professor Mark Hauber; plant biology professor Katy Heath; bioengineering professor Joseph Irudayaraj; anthropology professor Lyle Konigsberg; anthropology professor Ripan Malhi; computer science professor David Padua; civil and environmental engineering and geography and geographic information science professor Murugesu Sivapalan; geography and geographic information science professor Shaowen Wang; and computer science professor Tandy Warnow.

The AAAS Fellowship is a lifetime honor that started in 1874.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Previous articles