Click for the latest Champaign County weather forecast.

South Elgin wins second state cheer title

Members of the South Elgin cheerleading team celebrate their title victory with fans during the awards ceremony at the IHSA Competitive Cheer State Finals last Saturday. See more photos from the squad's championship routine below.

Photo: PhotoNews Media

BLOOMINGTON - Coming into this season, head coach Savanna Bennett led the South Elgin cheerleading program to one team title and a pair of third-place finishes in the competitive cheer state series. Bennett capped her seventh season at the program's helm with another team title last Saturday at Grossinger Motor Arena.

The Storm pulled no punches with a near-perfect routine during Friday's preliminary round, finishing above Highland, Stevenson, and Conant in hot pursuit of this year's Coed Team title. Earning a 97.20 from judges, South Elgin was a clear favorite heading into Saturday's finals.

Leaving it all out on the mat on Saturday, the 24-member team took home the program's second title in five seasons (2020 was the first), improving their prelim performance with a score of 97.60. Following them in the final standings were runner-up Conant (96.18) and Belvidere North (95.54) finished in third place.

Also finishing in the top ten this season was Highland (94.44) in fourth place, Dundee-Crown (93.60) in fifth, Shepard (92.64) in sixth, Stevenson (91.80) in seventh place, and Homewood-Flossmoor (89.00) in eighth place. Palatine (86.26) and St. Charles North (85.82) finished ninth and tenth, respectively.

This year's championship varsity squad members are Aubriunna Rosa, Nevaeh Poole, Adelyn Logsdon, Isavella Napoles, Sophia Catania, Katie Solis, Kyra Clark, Paige Vargas, Bridget Lucas, Kirsten Cones, Emma Salazar, Adriana Jimenez, Taylor Davis, Kylie Rogowski, Emma Steinhofer, Bella Meloun, Morgan Stokes, Bryan Estrada, Greta Zelaitis, Stewart William Jr., Maya Jovanovic, Stella Shah, Kaelyn Lindsay, and Hunter Lindsay.

The Illinois High School Cheerleading Coaches Organization named seniors Taylor Davis and Bryan Estrada to this season's All-State Coed Team.

Kathryn Ciolli and Savannah Swayze are assistant coaches for the state champs.

Storm fans were ecstatic about the team's title victory.

"So proud of them! Such a great group," Jamie Smiley-Jovanovic wrote on the South Elgin High School Cheer Facebook page.

Diane Martin added, "Well deserved!!! Way to bring that title back! This program is amazing."

Photo Gallery

Here is the video of their award-winning performance: