Area wrestlers earn All-Conference recognition

St. Thomas More's Brody Cuppernell tries to avoid a takedown attempt by Unity's Hunter Eastin during the IHSA 190-pound championship match at State Farm Center on Saturday. Eastin prevailed to win the Class 1A title with 5-2 decision over Cuppernell. Both wrestlers made the cut for this year's Illini Prairie all-conference first team. See more championship match photos here ...
Photo: PhotoNews Media

URBANA - Eleven wrestlers from Unity and eight from St. Joseph-Ogden were selected by coaches and named to the Illini Prairie 2023-2024 all-conference teams.

Later today, the Rockets wrestle against the Shells of Roxana for a spot in tomorrow's semifinal round at Grossinger Motor Arena. The season also continues for Unity's Phoenix Molina, who is competing in the girls' IHSA wrestling championship, also at the arena.

Illini Prairie Conference
All-Conference Wrestling
* Unanimous choice

First Team:
Zeke Young, Monticello (Freshmen, 106)
Hunter Romano, Monticello (Junior, 175/190)
Aidan Scholwin, Pontiac (Senior, 106)*
Ayden Mackey, Prairie Central (Senior, 144)
Emmitt Holt, SJO (Senior, 113)*
Holden Brazelton, SJO (Junior, 132)*
Coy Hayes, SJO (Sophomore, 150)
August Christhilf, STM (Senior, 175)*
Robbie Vavrik, STM (Senior, 285)*
Brody Cuppernell, STM (Senior, 190/215)*
Hunter Shike, Unity (Sophomore, 126)*
Taylor Finley, Unity (Freshmen, 132)
Kaden Inman, Unity (Junior, 144)
Abram Davidson, Unity (Sophomore, 157)
Ryan Rink, Unity (Junior, 165)*
Thayden Root, Unity (Senior, 175)
Hunter Eastin, Unity (Junior, 190)*

Second Team:
Owen Moser, IVC (Sophomore, 165)
AJ Toliver, IVC (Freshmen, 150)
Gavin Ridings, Monticello (Senior, 157)
Wyatt Vaughan, Monticello (Senior, 175/190)
Brandon Peters, Monticello (Senior, 285)
John Traub, Prairie Central (Junior, 132)
Darius Williams, Rantoul (Junior, 150)
Jackson Walsh, SJO (Sophomore, 113)
Landen Butts, SJO (Junior, 138)
Devan Swisher, SJO (Sophomore, 165)
Maddie Wells, SJO (Sophomore, 126)
James Schmidt, STM (Junior, 215)
Philip Christhilf, STM (Junior, 157)
Keegan Germano, Unity (Freshmen, 138)
Josh Heath, Unity (Sophomore, 150)

Honorable Mention:
Marrissa Miller, Monticello (Senior, 113)
Luke Andruczyk, Monticello (Freshmen, 120)
Will Osborne, Monticello (Freshmen, 126)
Russ Brown, Monticello (Junior, 165)
Hunter Melvin, Pontiac (Senior, 215)
Drayden Ramsey, Pontiac (Sophomore, 126)
Noah Davis, Pontiac (Freshmen, 120)
Drew Owen, Rantoul (Junior, 215/285)
Quincy Jones, SJO (Junior, 215)
Travis McCarter, Unity (Sophomore, 113)
Hudson DeHart, Unity (Freshmen, 215)

St. Joe-Ogden Athletics